The ATHENA Leadership Award® is presented to a woman ---or man--- who is honored for professional excellence, community service and for actively assisting women in their attainment of professional excellence and leadership skills. Click here for more information on hosting an ATHENA Award in your community.  
The ATHENA Leadership Model®, developed through a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, identifies eight distinct attributes that are reflective of women’s contributions to leadership. Click here to learn more about the ATHENA Leadership Model and programs based upon it.

Join Now! The ATHENA Leadership Circle and ATHENA Founding Lifetime Membership helps ATHENA fulfill its mission and bring us closer to our shared vision of a balance in the faces of leadership worldwide. Click here to learn more about becoming a member of ATHENA International.  
What’s new


Celebrate the 35th anniversary of ATHENA International and join us for three days of world-class inspiration, motivation and business networking at Ignite8.

Event Website and Registration Coming October 2015.
For more information, contact us at or

September 25–27, 2016
Lansing, Michigan, USA, where ATHENA was founded.

Hosted by


ATHENA International Presents Marlo Thomas With 2015 Global ATHENA Leadership Award

CHICAGO (April 16, 2015) - ATHENA International, a nonprofit organization known for recognizing women leaders throughout the world, bestowed its highest honor - the Global ATHENA Leadership Award - to Marlo Thomas in her New York City penthouse on Thursday, April 16, 2015. Thomas was nominated by Trish Doll, 1996 ATHENA Leadership Award Recipient, for championing St. Jude Children's Research Hospital and pioneering as the first independent working woman on television. The award was presented by ATHENA International representatives: Dianne Dinkel, President/CEO; Jan Maddox, Chair; Judy Lancaster, Vice-Chair; and Trish Doll, ATHENA International's Pennsylvania State Ambassador. Continue Reading



We're excited to announce that our ATHENA Membership website is up and running! The site is still under construction while we work to develop and enhance it, but we wanted to make it available to all our constituents. We welcome you to join as a member and experience the benefits of our site!


We thank you for hosting the ATHENA Award® Program and illuminating the exemplary leadership of ATHENA Nominees and Recipients in your community. Since the program’s inception in 1982, over 7,000 exemplary leaders in over 500 communities have received the prestigious ATHENA Leadership Award. By honoring exceptional leaders, the ATHENA Leadership Award® Program seeks to inspire others to achieve excellence in their professional and personal lives. Click here to renew your ATHENA Award Program today!

"What is honored in a country will be cultivated there" - Plato
Founded in 1982 by Martha Mayhood Mertz, ATHENA International is a non-profit organization that seeks to support, develop and honor women leaders through programs that we administer in partnership with ‘host organizations’ from local communities.These programs inspire women to reach their full potential and strive to create balance in leadership worldwide.
First Name
Last Name

ATHENA Founding Lifetime Members
Debra Adams Simmons
James F Anderton IV
Megan Agyeman
Bonnie Benkula
Jane Blain Gilbertson
Kathi Bond
Tina Boone
Christine Brown
Dr. Katherine Y Brown
 Joan Bump
Marian Carrington
Carla Carstens
Eloise Childers
Sam Childers
Mark Coe
Andrea Conner
Yolanda Crittenden
KL Daly
Jan Davies McDermott
Jocelyn Davey-Hawreluik
MaryLee Davis
Debra Dellaposta
Jackie D'Escoto
Dwain Deville
Dianne Dinkel
Lee Anne Doyle
Barbara Dzur
Tori Farmer
Kay Feagles
Janet Fry-Cappy
Linda Furgason
Paula Giovacchini
Bridget Glavaz
Margaret Goatcher
Janet Green
Patricia Hallberg
Terri Hedges
Adrianne Henderson
Barb Hodel
Mary Ann Jones, Ph.D.
Marlene Kowalski-Braun
Mary Katherine Krause
Judith Lancaster
Kathryn Lima
Mary MacLaren
Jan Maddox
Karalin G. (Alsdurf) McKain
Martha Mertz
Carla Michelotti
Aimee Mills
Barbara Moore King
Colleen Moore Mezler
Margaret Mullen
Lynn Myers
Joanne Osmond
Heather Paquette
Lisa Pierce
Patricia Pierce
Norma Rist
Ellen Ruddock
Sandi Saksena
Mari Kay Scott
Ilene Shapiro
Billye Proctor Shaw
Rita Shisler
Deirdre Joy Smith
Chuck Spadafora
Linda Spadafora
Linda Stevenson
Naomi Stutzman
Crystal Swann Blackdeer
Paulette Synegal Law
Donna Waltz-Jaskolski
Cheryl Ward 
Yvonne Wood
Gladys Wright Knox
ATHENA INTERNATIONAL  |  PO BOX 811188  |  CHICAGO, IL 60681  |  312.580.0111    
© 2011 ATHENA International. All rights reserved